

# **Draft Meeting Minutes**

#### **Call to Order**

The October 27, 2023, Virginia Board of Health Professions meeting was called to order at 10:00 a.m. at the Department of Health Professions (DHP), Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, 2<sup>nd</sup> Floor, Board Room 2, Henrico, Virginia 23233.

## **Presiding Officer**

James Wells, RPh

#### **Members Present**

Margaret Lemaster, RDH, Board of Dentistry
Mitchell Davis, NHA, Board of Long-Term Care Administrators
Krishna P. Madiraju, MD, FAAP, Board of Medicine
A. Tucker Gleason, PhD, Board of Nursing
Steve Karras, DVM, Board of Veterinary Medicine
Sheila E. Battle, MHS, Citizen Member
Carmina Bautista, MSN, FNP-BC, BC-ADM, Citizen Member
Claire Wulf Winiarek, PhD, Citizen Member
Karen E. Kimsey, Citizen Member
Susan Wallace, PhD, Board of Psychology (joined at 10:15 a.m.)

#### **Staff Present**

Arne W. Owens, Agency Director
Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director
Kelli Moss, Deputy Executive Director
Erin Barrett, Director of Legislative and Regulatory Affairs
Laura Booberg, Assistant Attorney General, Board Counsel
Laura Paasch, Senior Licensing Specialist

#### **Public Present**

Mary Ottinot, RN Stephanie Shawalter Clark Barrineau, Medical Society of Virginia

## **Establishment of Quorum**

With ten board members out of eighteen present, a quorum was established.

## **Ordering of Agenda**

Mr. Wells opened the floor to any changes to the agenda. Ms. Knachel indicated that the agenda order may change due to multiple meetings that presenters were attending. No

other changes were noted. The agenda was accepted as presented noting the possible order change.

#### **Public Comment**

Ms. Ottinot provided comments about mental health services.

### **Approval of Minutes**

Mr. Wells opened the floor to any additions or corrections regarding the draft minutes from the Full Board Meeting on March 29, 2022. Hearing none, the minutes were approved as presented.

## **Agency Director's Report**

Mr. Owens provided an update on the agency's activities.

## **Legislative/Regulatory Report**

Ms. Barrett provided information regarding the policy review for the electronic participation amendment.

Dr. Karras made a motion to revise the electronic participation policy as presented. The motion was seconded by Ms. Wulf Winiarek. The motion carried unanimously.

## Reports

#### Staff

Ms. Knachel provided the staff report.

#### Healthcare Workforce Data

Dr. Yetty Shobo provided her report on the activities of the Healthcare Workforce Data Center.

#### Enforcement

Ms. Pam Twombly, Acting Director of the Enforcement Division, Josh Goggan, Enforcement Case Intake Manager, and Melody Morton, Enforcement Inspections Manager, provided a report on the activities in the Enforcement Division.

#### Communications

Ms. Diane Powers, DHP Communications Director, provided a report on the activities in the Communications Division.

#### **Finance**

Mr. Chris Moore, Finance Director, provided his report on the activities in the Finance Division.

## Administrative Proceedings Division

Ms. Julia Bennett, Deputy Director for the Administrative Proceedings Division, reported for James Banning, Director for the unit. She provided her report on the activities in the Administrative Proceedings Division.

## **Board Counsel Report**

Ms. Booberg had no information to report to the Board.

## **Board Chair Report**

Mr. Wells had no information to report to the Board.

#### **New Business**

#### Elections

Mr. Wells provided information from the bylaws regarding officer elections.

#### Chair

Dr. Madiraju made a motion to self-nominate to serve as Chair. Mr. Wells seconded the motion. No further nominations were received. Voting by roll-call ballot was unanimous and the motion carried for Dr. Madiraju to serve a one-year term as office of the Chair beginning January 1, 2024.

#### **First Vice-Chair**

Ms. Lemaster made a motion to self-nominate to serve as the First Vice-Chair. The motion was seconded by Dr. Gleason. No other nominations were received. Voting by roll-call ballot was unanimous and the motion carried for Ms. Lemaster to serve a one-year term as First Vice-Chair beginning January 1, 2024.

#### **Second Vice-Chair**

Dr. Wallace made a motion to nominate Ms. Wulf Winiarek to serve as the Second Vice-Chair. The motion was seconded by Ms. Battle. No other nominations were received. Voting by roll-call ballot was unanimous and the motion carried for Dr. Wulf Winiarek to serve a one-year term as Second Vice-Chair beginning January 1, 2024.

## **Reports continued**

Right Help Right Now

Ms. Jamie Hoyle, Executive Director for the Boards of Psychology, Social Work and Counseling provided a report on the Governor's Initiative, <u>Right Help Right Now</u>.

## **Next Meeting**

The next full board meeting will be announced at a future time.

## **Adjournment**

Hearing no objections, Mr. Wells adjourned the meeting at 1:15 p.m.